Episode 259: Multi-Tasking or Mayhem?

Apparently us women are supposed to be pretty good at multitasking; I think I am to a point, especially when I’m on the phone. Sometimes I can be talking to my sister on the phone for an hour or more, so being able to get on with some other jobs at the same time can come in handy!

I am pretty good at ironing with the phone balanced between right ear and shoulder, as well as carrying on a conversation, likewise dusting and polishing.However, I cannot talk and type, or read at the same time. No, that is definitely too much for my poor little brain to manage at once and the concentration goes completely, so that I am either typing rubbish or talking rubbish (well, more so than usual, anyway)!

I can knit and watch TV at the same time though. Yes, I bet you are impressed with that one. What I need to mention here is that only applies if I am following an easy pattern. If I am counting stitches or something that requires a smidgen of thought, then I usually miss a huge chunk of what happened in the film or programme and drive everyone mad by asking what is going on. Other than that if a juicy bit comes on the TV then I need to watch, then stitches can get dropped, or I have to unpick rows that I have buggered  up!

I can’t do anything else whilst driving, except listen to music, and that has only been a recent thing. I suppose it is due to the fact that I am not keen on driving and feel I need to concentrate. When I used to smoke I rarely had a cigarette whilst driving. I remember once when I did, and the top of the cigarette fell off onto my lap (it was still lit), I was panicking like mad trying to bat at it to put it out, whilst concentrate on the road. I didn’t do that again!

At work of course is a different matter entirely, I am a very good multi-tasker as we all have to be. We are constantly running from one job to the next, and on the way to that job, get grabbed to do another one or two. That with answering the buzzers, and talking to relatives, or other medical staff as you go about your chores, is just part and parcel of the job.

Are you a good multi-tasker, and do you think women are better at it than men?

25 thoughts on “Episode 259: Multi-Tasking or Mayhem?

  1. We’re women, as you say, we HAVE to multitask, in order to cope with life…
    Whether I’m good at it or not? That, I don’t know…
    But I managed to hula and read on my iPad the other morning… SKILLS!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. TRUE multitasking doesn’t exist in people. A university study, where brain activity was monitored, showed two things. First, people were much better when the two tasks involved different hemispheres of the brain, art vs logic, rather than both requiring the same side.
    The second thing they noticed was that in either case brain activity dropped significantly when multitasking. Neither task was done as well as when both were done independently.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have finally accepted that my ADD is good for one thing, and that is multi-tasking, which is actually a misnomer. It’s really more like thread juggling. You can process to or so instruction on the thread of one task, then you micro switch to another thread for a few instructions and then back again. Only, it all happens so quickly, that you’re certain you’re doing it all at once. People with ADD are very good at this to a point. Then anxiety topples it all like a house of cards. When kids with even mild ADD are trying to learn, they give them something to hold or squeeze with one hand (very accurately called a figit). It’s a brilliant way to keep those stray brainwaves occupied so our brains do ‘t explode. LOL and as far as gender, women are programmed for hyper-vigilance. So, by design, we can keep track of more details then men. You KNOW if your kid isn’t making the sounds he should be making whilst playing alone in his room, then something is amiss.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I am an excellent multi-tasker, but I don’t LIKE it.
    I like to focus.
    I enjoy silence.
    Isn’t it nice knowing you won’t accidentally burn yourself in the car now? I really enjoy that about not smoking 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m a pretty good multi-tasker – as a teacher you have to be. Phone conversations and dishes are pretty common. blogging while watching tv. knitting while watching tv, for sure. (although if I am at a tricky bit I do put the tv show on pause, or mute the sound.
    My favourite multi-task – swimming and solving life problems!
    and yes, women are better at this than men – we have to be because when you are raising children you HAVE to multi-task or else you are sunk!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You sound a far better multitasker than I am. I can’t blog and do anything else at all! I have to concentrate on it intensely! I agree that being mums we have had to learn how to do it pretty damn quick!

      Like

  6. I think women are naturals at multi-tasking because they are usually the ones juggling more throughout the day. However, I have seen some men who are great multi-taskers. Some who are much better at it than I am. So I guess it just really depends on the person and not the gender as much.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I am an excellent multi-tasker. I don’t think gender has anything to do with it. This is funny that you should post on this today, because I am beginning a post about my thoughts on multi-tasking. Different take, but same subject. Odd.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to know what you think

