Episode 291: Lost For Words

As many of you know, I really love words and the fun that can be had with them. However, as you get older (so I’m told), you might have a bit of job trying to remember a particular word that you were searching for.

How many of us have said,

“Can you pass me that…….thingummyjig’ or  perhaps  ” where is the …….oojamaflip?” Where on earth do these silly words come from? I know I often resort to ‘do-dah’ when I can’t find the word I need.

My step-father had a broad West Country accent and he would often say something like,

“Go and get the wha’s call it for I, only it sounded more like wascot! He also had a lovely way of getting words mixed up as in ‘every Dick, Tom and Harry’  or better still, “pass I thick Amber Solamber, will thee?” Now of course he meant the Ambre Solaire suntan lotion. Bless him, he always took it in good part when we laughed!

Mr Grump is another one who can’t recall what he wants to say (well he is even older than I am), and will refer to things as a ‘gizmo’ or ‘dooberry firkin.’

It’s funny though as most of these words we resort to when we can’t think of the right one, are probably about three times as long!

21 thoughts on “Episode 291: Lost For Words

  1. I must be really ancient by now because I’ve been doing this for years. The worst for me are names and I will call people by a list of names before I get to theirs, so it’s like, “Pass me the sauce, Edwina…no um… Mr Grunpy.. no um… I mean Cat. The other words I use a lot are ‘thingymajig’ and ‘do-dah’

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I hadn’t thought about how the replacement words are much longer and more complicated but you’re dead right. ..maybe it’s so we don’t feel like such dills…
    And in our household, the thing that could not be remember was a hoojackapivvy
    (LOL… I’ve never written that down before so I have no idea if that’s how to spell it)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh my goodness! This started for me during pregnancy. I was 28. It’s never gotten better! I end up sayin things like, “I need one of those things, one of those pokey silvery things with the prongs? You know not the spoon, but the pokey thing?”
    Oh yeah. Combine that with slang and the household jargon and I appear to be stricken with some neurological dysfunction!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yes, I know what you mean. I wonder sometimes if I’m getting early onset Alzheimer’s -half-joking, since my mom has it. Perhaps it’s caused by too much multi-tasking and working in an office for over 20 years.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think we all worry when we start forgetting things , especially when we get word blindness. I am impressed you can multi task as I am aa bit rubbish at it! I’m sorry your Mum has Alzheimer’s. That must be tough for you all. Thanks so much for your comments and the follow. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Aahh, word-finding issues. Another one of those special little perks of getting older! It’s funny you posted this. I was having lunch with a friend today, and I was trying to think of the word “guilt.” I started describing the word to her: “You know, it starts with a “g” and it’s what your mom does to make you feel bad if you don’t do something”…..Anyway, she couldn’t think of it either, but knew what I meant. A minute or two later we finally pulled it out. I’m just grateful that I could think of ALL of the other words I had to use to get to the ONE I wanted! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Loved this because I am sitting here with one of those helpful books, what is that again? Right… A thesaurus 😉 as I’m trying to write an article due tomorrow. This forgetting phenomenon literally makes me crazy and I think I love words as much as you! The tip of my tongue is where they all love to hang out. Thanks for the laughs!

    Like

    1. Thank you for coming over Steph! I love it that your words are also ‘on the tip of your tongue!’ Mine are a lot more these days too! Good luck with the article, not that you need it! 🙂

      Like

I'd love to know what you think

