Episode 478: It’s all about Perspective.

I just had to share this story with you which you might have already seen on Facebook as it has been doing the rounds there at the moment.

A 21-year-old woman had her leg tattooed with the words ‘I’m fine’ which is depicted in the picture on the left. Now this might seem a rather odd thing to have tattooed onto your skin, but its message is much more than just those words.

As you can see from the image on the right, the same tattoo read from the woman’s viewpoint reads ‘save me.’ The reason for this is that she unfortunately  suffers from  depression, and although might look fine to others, is actually feeling far from it.

She wanted to show just how appearances can be so deceptive, as a person with depression does not necessarily go moping about with a  sad face! In fact, I know from experience that I have tried to act as normal, cracking jokes and keeping up with conversations, when I have actually just wanted to go home and back into my little ‘cocoon.’

The whole point of her getting the tattoo was to share it publicly, in order to raise awareness of depression and somehow lessen the stigma that is often attached to it. I don’t know what you think, but from my perspective it is a pretty clever way of drawing attention to condition that is so often misunderstood, and not taken seriously enough.

42 thoughts on “Episode 478: It’s all about Perspective.

  1. I saw this on FB, and was blown away. I too suffer from depression, and some people never try to see beyond the “I’m fine” fake mask. This tat is beautiful, and so is she. God bless her for speaking out.
    (And can I just say, every time I pop in here, and see “me” on your side bar, I get a thrill anew! Thanks again, for liking me!)
    Melinda

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s an excellent cry for help when presenting a normal face to the public. It’s very clever and I hope the point is made that no matter what the response o a question of ‘How are you?” the real answer may be something different and must be taken seriously.
    As a fairly private person ‘Fine thanks’ would always be my standard answer even when I was ready to hide under the bed but there are always signs to be looked for and if we’re bothered enough to ask the question, we should be bothered enough to make sure we get the real answer. A little more interest may just save a person’s life.
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I agree that a little more thought goes such a long way, and the signs are there if we look for them. You made such a good point that if we are bothered enough to ask how someone is then we should be bothered enough to listen when they tell us. Hugs xxxx

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Depression is not so easy to treat as a physical injury. If you have a broken down leg you set it and all is (usually) fine. But depression is different, there is no injury to treat, and it is different in everyone. The company I work at started a program called Live and Work Well, and online course on handling depression, basically a course on positive thinking. Didn’t help me because my particular variety has nothing to do with negative thinking, it has to do with how I am treated at work. When I get away from work, for even a short time, my depression clears totally. How do you spin a positive thought when your (former) boss tells you “so long as I am here you will never bet promoted”? He is no longer my boss, but I still have to deal with him daily.

    Liked by 3 people

      1. He’s one of those gregarious people that everyone likes and can do no wrong. He has been called into HR almost a half dozen times, has been up and down the managerial ladder three times (he is now a manager of no one, but still a manager), but since he is liked he can do no wrong. And, yes, it is a joy dealing with him every day. Our current project is 2 months behind schedule because he isn’t doing his assigned tasks, but no one says anything and the project deadline just gets pushed back. I was one week late getting a project in and it was reflected on my annual review. Enough rant, thanks for letting me vent.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I do understand from personal experience how depression can impact your life and particularly in the past when you were told to pull yourself together like a pair of curtains. We do not all have great coping skills which is when food, drink and drugs can become inserted into our lives. The greatest loss was of myself and it took many years to realise that. I hope that tattoo serves as a reminder each day that she will be fine in time.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. The worst thing you can say to someone with depression is to ‘pull yourself together.’ I know I wish I could sometimes if only it were that easy. I am glad that you got yourself back ,and hope that you have managed to keep the dpression at bay! 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  5. Mental health is just as important as physical health—maybe more. Often times, it’s difficult for people to truly understand what someone who has depression faces on a daily basis, especially if they haven’t experienced it themselves. This woman’s tattoo may help to start a conversation or raise awareness.

    Liked by 2 people

I'd love to know what you think

