You Won’t Believe What I Have Signed Up For.

You might remember that I mentioned a while ago something about a huge project that I wanted to do. Well I have decided that now is a good time to tell you what it is.

Last year I took part in the NaBloPoMo challenge (National Blog Post Month Challenge) which was to write a post every day throughout the month of November, which I managed to achieve. This year I wanted to participate in something bigger…..

I have decided to take part in NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) which is due to take place in November. I know that it is going to be a monumental task to say the least but I would love to achieve it.

As many of you know, I do not really write fiction, but I have an idea for a story that is part memoir, from a very dark period in my life, that I think I might be able to make into a mini novel of 50 000 words. I am going to give it a bloody good try anyway!

Is anyone else going to have a go?

62 thoughts on “You Won’t Believe What I Have Signed Up For.

  1. I did it last year and I’m so glad I did. I know my two novels are not out yet but I’m as close as never and I really aim at having them published before the end of November. You will enjoy it. For me it was the kind of “pressure” I needed to finally write.

    Like

  2. You can do it Edwina!!!
    I’ve done NaNoWriMo for the past three years. But I’m still undecided about this year. Thanks to WriMo I finished and published my first novel. But now i have 2 unfinished drafts from it (plus the draft of book 2 for the novel; not a WriMo book but still a 3rd draft.) I don’t want yet another draft on the shelf. I might do the editing version… We’ll see.
    But you can do this. You just have to let everything else go. πŸ˜€ Go for it! Mega hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for your faith in me Teagan. I know some of the people that took part in previous WriMos but who are not taking part this year, are using it to work on their previous drafts. Maybe it would give you chance to work on some of yours. It is very exciting as well as scary, and it is heartening to know that you published your first novel through participating in this. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Actually my entire reason for doing my first WriMo was the hope that it would let me teach myself something that helped me actually FINISH a novel. I had so many unfinished tales, and an epic fantasy I’d worked on for two years, nearly done but not quite finished.
        I don’t know if i’m much better at finishing novels, after 3 NaNoWriMos, but it was a huge boost to my self-esteem to finish Atonement, Tennessee and another boost when I got up the nerve to self-publish it.
        Do as they say — just write forward. Don’t back up to edit in any way, just keep going. Edits are for later.
        Each night i would try to see my story on my mental TV screen and imagine what the “next TV episode” would be.
        It’s hard, no doubt about it. But knowing that you’ve done it at least once, is worth the effort. Hugs!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I can’t imagine how proud you must have been when you had actually published your first novel. I like the advice about visualising what the next tv episode will be, I will remember that. Thanks again Teagan. Hugs xx

        Like

  3. Hi
    Thanks for visiting my blog. I’ve always wanted to try that but haven’t gotten around to it. It’s good that you have a story idea, that’s half had battle. I am going to do the NaPoWriMo. I didn’t know about the “daily blogging” one though. I’m going to try that one too. Thanks for the intro.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Just catching up on blog posts I’ve missed, and I’m pleased to see this one. It is a great challenge and fun knowing so many people are scribbling/typing away too. I took part for the first time last year, BUT got too in tangled in detail so only managed 40k. Like Joey, I’m going to use November to focus on finishing what I started last year. My advice to myself, for when I do participate again, is plan the outline first, do as much research as I can before November and then write ,write, write and don’t do any editing until writing The End! Very best wishes to you. PS, tell Mr Grump and Miss Happ that they need to do all the chores in November because a busy author just dosn’t have time. X

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for your encouragement, I know it is going to be a huge undertaking. I appreciate the tips you gave as well. You did so well last year, and it is wonderful that both you and Joey will be working on your novels in November. I do hope that I will get to see the finished result. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Hi Edwina, I’m entering again this year. This will be my third time. One fail and one win. I’m happy to be a writing buddy if you would like one. I found mine was really helpful with her encouragement but I’m not sure if she’s entering this year. Let me know what you think Steve

    Liked by 1 person

      1. As far as I know you can have as many writing buddies as you want. They are a real source of encouragement especially after the first two weeks when the excitement ebbs. You can watch their word count each day and send each other messages as often as you like

        Liked by 1 person

  6. You’ll be fine. If you aggregate your daily output you do a nano daily amount anyway – 1667 words. Just don’t worry about the quality or that you’ve missed stuff out, that’s for the edit. Just write. You’ll be fine, I just know it. As for me, not yet sure. I’ll probably decide on the 31/10!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’ve done it twice, but I’m not doing it this year. I seem to do it every other year. However, I will be spending November working on last year’s novel.
    Best of luck! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 2 people

I'd love to know what you think

