I Won!!!

I can’t believe I did it, but I won the NaNoWriMo Challenge! Last night I completed just over 50 000 words of the Novelette that I had wanted to write.

I decided to set myself the challenge after being inspired by so many of my blogging friends. I have never written anything other than poems really, but there was a story that I wanted to tell, and have done for some time. I have been quietly picking up hints and tips from the established authors we have among us here on WordPress.

The one piece of advice that I had from a few different people was just to write, get it all down and the editing process can come later, so that is what I did. Every night I set aside two hours after work where I would write, and at weekends, I would do as much as I could at any opportunity I got. It paid off because I have got there a little earlier than expected!

So I have got the bare bones of my story, a little jumbled up perhaps; character names have changed over the course of it, but that is down to me getting carried away and not checking my notebook properly I have got a hell of a lot of work to do if I do want to try and make something of it, but that is for later on.

I thought this challenge was particularly relevant to me now as it is coming up to my 50th birthday (Sssh, yes I know I don’t look a day over 65), and it is something that I can be proud of achieving before reaching that terrifying (to me) milestone!

Anyway, I did it and I beyond thrilled!  Now that is enough of the trumpet blowing, I shall be back in the land of blog soon. It is funny how much I missed you all  despite managing to get a couple of posts in.  Thanks again, for all of your encouragement and support. it really helped to spur me on!

 

 

 

 

97 thoughts on “I Won!!!

  1. With TEN DAYS to spare! I loved your snippet. Have fun with the editing. Apparently it is best if you print it out. Something about how the brain works better on a tactile level with pen and paper during editing than on the PC. Editing now, while it is fresh and you’re keen is probably best. After the first rewrite, then set it aside for a week or two.

    Well done, Edwina!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. It uses a lot of ink and paper, but is worth it. I still can’t get over how quickly you wrote that in only two hours a day – that story was surely wanting out of your head! Impressed.

        Liked by 1 person

      1. Well I would go with you gut feeling about the editing, Judy. You may well get a lot done. I think you are going to feed us with some snippets of the story. I’ve seen an email from WordPress about a new post you have published. Not looked at it yet but I did read that first line.

        Age is all in the mind. What really matters is that it should not stop you from enjoying life. When I reached 50 I was determined to carry on enjoying life. It never stopped me from doing that and nor has 51 or 52 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’d better read it after midnight then. Then I’ll probably not get to sleep because my blood pressure will be racing. Ah, horlicks! That will help. That’s what we do after 50…I think not. Sounds like a great read, Judy.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations!! That is so exciting, I’m so happy for you!! Just writing and doing the editing later is some of the best advice I’ve read as well, and have been trying hard to apply! It’s difficult to do sometimes though. You’re doing great, and no, you don’t look a day over 30! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much Lydia, yes I am really excited, to have got the most difficult part out of the way, Of course I still have lots of work left with the editing.
      Thank you also for you the lovely compliment regarding my age, Ha, I would love to be 30 again. 🙂

      Like

  3. Way to go! You’re done, before it’s done. Congratulations!!! I think about it for a while then I just whimp out….Gotta have a plan for it to work right. Again, Congratulations.

    Like

    1. Yes, it has brought me a huge sense of satisfaction. I never thougt that I would be able to write anything like that, I know it needs a lot of work, but at least I have a draft which is more than I ever have before Thank you for your lovely kind comments Karen, They are so very appreciated. 🙂

      Like

  4. I am beyond impressed. I began the challenge also, due to some (friendly) pressure from other blogging friends. I’m not even half way!! I’m doing it the slow way, and editing as I go along. When I take the challenge again next year (and I will – and I hope YOU will too), I’ll let down all my defenses and throw away my ‘editor-in-my-head’ and go full out as you did. HUGE Congratulations.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so very much, I appreciate your comments.The great thing about the way you have done it though is that there will be less editing to do later, I have got all of that to look forward to! I suppose there is something to be said for both ways of writing, but being a newbie at writing let along NanoWriMo, I thought I would just go flat out to get the word count sorted out first!
      I am not sure about having a go next year yet, I expect I;ll still be editing this year’s! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. YAY!!!! You did it!!!! Concratulations, Judy!!!! Woohooo!!!! So happy for you. Your excitement feels like thousand 🎆🎆🎆 Celebrate! I appreciate it so much that you stopped at my blog so often next to all that work! Big hugs and kisses, Judy 😘😘😘

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hey that’s fabulous. Glass of something inappropriate I think. Well done. I really do understand how exciting this is. You are both a writer and a novelist even if you don’t yet think so. Biggest congrats!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Geoff, I am still buzzing from the excitement of finishing it. You were one of those who gave me the good advice about keeping going and edit later, it worked! I wont have to cheek to call myself a novelist yet, but I might try in winter to see how that fits. Ii like the sound of it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It took me ages and I still mumble it. But you have a story it is of the length that counts as a novel. You wrote it so you are a novelist. There is one caveat. As this is a first draft it will be shit. But hey that’s what makes editing fun!

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Wow! Wow! and thrice WOW!!!!!
    Congratulations! Fantastic!
    (I empathise with the whole 50 thing! I was a basket case and refused to have anyone say happy birthday to me – but now I’m loving my 60s!)
    Anyway – what an achievement!! WELL DONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to know what you think

