Wacky Word Wednesday

Wahay it’s Wednesday! This is where I get to play with  wacky, weird or wonderful words. The one I have chosen today has a wonderful ring to it. Its original meaning was to ‘plump with fat’ or to puff up, so of course, this word is right up my street! So here without further ado, I give you….

Chuffed. This is such a happy word, pleased as punch, and thrilled to bits. It is jolly and jovial, ecstatic and exuberant. The feeling you have when things go right for a change, blithe and buoyant, rosy and rapturous, on top of the world (hmmm that sounds familiar)!

The origins of this word make me think of a little bird plumping itself up, and preening with pride, puffing out its little chest. Chirpy, and cheerily hopping about!

 

 

22 thoughts on “Wacky Word Wednesday

  1. Oh, that is a beautiful word to know now! It means over all happy and joyful, right? Sounds wonderful and I have to keep it in mind. Thanks Judy! I learn so much every day and still there is so much to learn…. haha!!!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. It really is! I wonder if I ever will get to know every English word… haha! Still have to check so many although I don’t need to when I am writing myself. That is already a fantastic feeling! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I always loved English, learned the language in school and then in business school. I spent a year in the States and for years now I am writing and reading English…. most of all during the past 1 1/2 years… lol! Therefore I often think I should do better… haha 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Of course it is a different language with a different grammar. But compared to German it is rather relaxing. Also the languages are related in many ways and expressions (although some can be tricky because the mean something completely different).

        Like

I'd love to know what you think

