Just Jot It January 6th – Cloud

Clouds

Today’s prompt word is ‘cloud’ for Linda’s Just Jot It January. As you can see from my photo, today we have blue skies and puffy white clouds which make a change from all the awful rain that we have been having recently!

Anyway, I am not going to talk about that type of cloud, I am going to venture into the unknown (for me) and talk about storage clouds. I am not very tech savvy at all. I can use the computer to do roughly what I need to do, although there is still a lot more to learn. Thanks to some fellow bloggers, I can now use Picmonkey and Canva (the basics at least), and have learned over time more about some  of the WordPress features.

What I am now trying to get to grips with is this little cloud symbol I have on my laptop. I know it is ‘One Drive’ and that it saves everything to it from all of my devices which actually seems a great idea. The thing is I have got Dropbox and some Google photo thing where my photos go to as well! I know that Elizabeth was also talking about her cloud in this post and deleting photos from her phone, whether or not they would still be on the cloud.

What I want to know is, if I have got all these pics in all these places taking up all of my laptop memory, where is the best place for me to keep them, and is it safe to delete them from all the other places?

Any help would be greatly appreciated! 🙂

 

 

 

32 thoughts on “Just Jot It January 6th – Cloud

  1. I bought a 1Terabyte WD cloud (personal cloud) where I back everything up. I can access it from anywhere in from my devices so it frees up storage space. I have a cousin who listens to her music collection everyday on the train from it instead of downloading music to her cell…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks Judy for linking my post. I don’t like much the idea of an external driver, I don’t like to connect another hardware to the computer all the time to save photos. I’ve tried dropbox, but it slows down the computer to upload files, and takes space from the computer anyway. I have the iCloud on so all my Mac stuff are connected, and I have Flickr on too, in there I can keep my photos and I can open them in any computer, like my PC at work. And with Flickr I can share them with friends too, only the photos I want to share. I know there is lots of info out there and we can get lost in the middle of all of them. Thanks again!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks to you too Elizabeth. I didn’t realise that Dropbox slows down the computer. I also didn’t think about saving photos to Flikr. There is so much info around, like you say and it makes my head spin! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m concerned over ‘cloud’ storage for a lot of reasons. What I did is purchased a WD “My Cloud” device, that is hardware connected to my PC. I can access it anywhere with an app on my phone, and can share with anyone that I choose. This removes the possibility of ownership conflicts with a web based storage solution. Also, I back up my personal cloud with a USB drive that I don’t keep plugged in. Redundant storage can be a pain, but it’s the safest way to go.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. How clever, it didn’t even occur to me about cloud storage when I read the prompt. I’m a bit un-trusting of cloud storage. I prefer to buy a external harddrive or usb drives and save everything on them. If I had it my way, I would just print everything out and make scrap books. But I take far too many pictures to do that.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m still wary of the cloud and who has the rights to the information/pix after the files are uploaded, so I’m not the best one to ask either. Kids (people younger than me) seem to have no problem giving away their rights or privacy, but that whole thing doesn’t sit too well with me so I err on the side of retaining my own stuff and store everything in external back-up drives.

    Liked by 3 people

      1. It is like an external storage…. like an account you can upload your stuff and access (iTunes I guess might be a comparison). At least that is how I understand it….. it is all only bits and bytes….

        Liked by 2 people

I'd love to know what you think

