Just Jot it January 14th – Motivation.

jjj-2016

‘Motivation’ is the prompt word we have for Linda’s Just Jot it January today. I would say that normally I am quite a motivated person. I know what I have to do, and can usually get stuck straight into it. I am a creature of habit and routines, so many of the mundane things I need to do are carried out on automatic pilot almost. I don’t need to think too much about it, I just get on with it.

When I took part in NaNoWriMo, I was not sure that I would be able to get the motivation to write every day in order to achieve the required word count at the end of it. It was something that I really wanted to achieve though and I wanted to keep up the enthusiasm and momentum that I had at the start of the month. I ended up setting aside a couple of hours each night purely for writing, no distractions if possible. That was my way of getting myself motivated, incorporating my writing into a routine.

Then depression sets in and it all goes out the window.

Isn’t is strange how just getting washed and dressed can seem like such a monumental task? Why bother, when it is easier to just sit around in pyjamas. Who needs to do housework? After all, it is only going to get messed up again, and everywhere is cluttered up anyway. Do I really have to go out and see people when all I want to do is stay at home and be on my own? I don’t feel like talking and smiling and ‘being nice.’ I wanted to get stuck into some sewing projects but have only had one or two days lately where I have had the oomph to get everything out and do it. I was pleased when I did make something, though. It was even a struggle getting myself to my CBT session (Cognitive behavioural therapy) as I was so anxious!

However, I still manage to find the motivation to go countless times to the kitchen and get myself a snack. I can also be sociable here in the blogosphere chatting with people and posting ‘funny’ stories and poems. I can even still play Candy Crush for a while.

Hopefully, my missing motivation will soon find its way back!

 

 

54 thoughts on “Just Jot it January 14th – Motivation.

  1. Judy, I’m sorry to hear that you’re not feeling your best. This time of year is difficult and certainly doesn’t help with anxiety, etc. I read somewhere recently that Christmastime should come with a mental health warning. I totally agree, and I think we should extend the warning through March. The first three months of the year are always a challenge for me–the whole cold, dark, gloomy thing. Anyway, we all think you’re fantastic and are so glad to read your creative, witty, and humorous posts. Sending sunshine and best wishes your way! 🙂 xoxoxox

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much Tonya. I am certainly a lot better than I was before Christmas, Hopefully, I will be back to feeling myself soon. I appreciate the sunshine that you sent me and the kind wishes. That means a lot xx

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You WILL be back to yourself soon. It sounds like you’re heading in the right direction. Just remember to be patient and compassionate with yourself–better days are on the way. I’m always around if you ever want to talk. Thinking of you! 😊💛

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m sorry the depression is lingering still. :/
    I think it’s wonderful that you blog — there are many days you put the first smile on my face. You UK bloggers post earlier, I presume so I can take you with coffee and sunrise 😛

    Liked by 2 people

  3. We’ve all been there, Judy. You are to be praised for your loyalty to this blog. Writing out those thoughts can be so therapeutic, and just knowing you are not alone…priceless ! I used to get very down after the holidays. Now, it has completely changed. I dread all the frenzy of the holidays, and look forward to the peace and calm that comes after.

    This may seems like a vicious cycle…but it always passes. Always. Thinking of you. With big hugs. 💖

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Well, I can’t stay in PJ’s all day, mainly because I don’t wear any, so there’s that. I do have what appear to be days and days of lagging motiviation. For me, I think that I’m beholden to light cycles. Winter is so damned depressing!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I can sympathize. I also have laundry piled to the sky. I wear the same clothes. I need to vacuum, but I live in my room, who cares. This is the only room I can call my own. I need a shower too. My hair is getting noticeably dirty. I have bipolar and I am manic and can’t settle down. I just took another half a pill. Hope to settle down soon. I don’t have to be depressed to feel this way.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Judy, you’re not alone in this. I always think that January should officially be written off anyway… there’s that post-Christmas comedown (possibly the credit card bills too), plus it’s dark and cold and basically not much to lift the spirits, on top of everything else. And if you don’t feel like talking and smiling and being nice online… that’s fine too. We’ll still be here.

    Hugs x

    Liked by 3 people

  7. I think the tricky part is when you don’t get into motion and just hang around, you get even more depressed in seeing that you did not get anything done. Can that be? So a bad circle. Judy, I just hope you know that you are so much appreciated and that you are a highlight in this blog sphere to me and to many others as well! Whenever you need a shoulder to lean on I am there!

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Judy, I daresay that even the best of us have these moments of flagging motivation. I have had day’s when I just want to sit in my nightie and hair net and not talk to anyone or do anything except eat cookies and having a routine has helped me a whole lot to keep my focus on such days.

    Liked by 2 people

I'd love to know what you think

