Just Jot it January 18th – Elegance

jjj-2016

This is a great word for Linda’s Just Jot it January prompt today – ‘elegance.’ It is something that I am truly lacking in, but wish that I had.

I thought I would dig out a poem that I wrote some time ago for those of you that have not seen it yet, about my desire to be more graceful and elegant!

Oh how I wish I was graceful

and not a disaster on wheels

I trip over every obstacle

And my shoes have got broken off heels

I try so hard to be upright

But always fall flat on my face

My body is covered in bruises

From where I have fallen from grace

I long to be elegant and classy

But that is just not to be

Whilst others are sipping their cocktails

I’m knocking over my tea.

Life for me would be perfect

If only I was more chic

Instead of awkward and bumbling

And coming across as a freak

Oh how I wish I was graceful

But life is not very fair

So I’ll carry on being clumsy

And pretending that I just don’t care!

55 thoughts on “Just Jot it January 18th – Elegance

  1. Oh, Judy! We truly are so much alike!! Elegance describes my Mama to a tee. I’ve always felt inadequate for all those same reasons you listed.
    sigh
    At least my girls don’t feel inadequate compared to me! Yay. At least I serve as a bad example.
    Those elegant people wouldn’t shine so bright, without us to highlight them. Why don’t they say Thank you?? Well, welcome anyway.
    Melinda

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are right Melinda! There needs to be people like us to show others in a good light! Unfortunately, my daughter takes after me, being a little clumsy as well. However she is beautiful and clever, and very funny. She doesn’t need to worry! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This is beautiful. I tend to be this sometimes, and pull off the elegant look too. All in all it’s all about what makes you feel comfortable, and what makes you put a smile on your face.If I am doing it all for me, then all is well.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Awh…. Judy reading I just want to hug you! You know what, Judy? You own such a big place in my heart not because you are trying to be elegant but because you are right how you are! And btw. I can be so clumsy too…. I don’t know how often I stumbled over my own suitcase! Pretty embarrassing when you are in the midst of the line… lol!

    Liked by 3 people

      1. Haha… yes! See? That is why there is so much understanding for each other… πŸ˜ƒ I wonder how that Blogger Bash will turn out when we are together πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

        Liked by 1 person

  4. But you are just being you and that is what is important, Judy.
    I am a person whom people avoid and then tend to look through when they pass me in the corridor, unless they have something they need from me. I don’t mind it myself because often I am praying they don’t talk to me but sometimes these days, I notice it and wonder about it. So each has his own downfall- mine is being avoided and yours is being clumsy ( which I don’t think is so much of an ill, myself):)
    Susie

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Only recently have I started noticing it- perhaps I am not interesting enough or don’t gossip or have the necessary things to be “in” things- but the stray cats and my plants love me, of this I am sure. And so does my husband.:)
        Susie

        Liked by 1 person

I'd love to know what you think

