Photography 101: Mystery and Lighting Effects

Mystery

Today we are to find something that is a bit of a mystery and photograph it. We are also to think about different types of lighting effects. We have been given some suggestions as follows:

  •  Take your photo during the “Golden Hour”: the time just after sunrise or before sunset when natural light is soft and takes on color tones of its own.
  • Illuminate your subject with a flashlight or candle.
  • Take a street shot, using car headlights or street lamps to light your scene.
  • Try a photo during the day when the bulk of the sun is hidden, revealing patches or bursting rays of light.

I have not got a lot of time today so have taken a shot during the ‘golden hour’ of some houses over the back of where I live. It is always interesting to wonder what people are getting up to behind closed doors; well, it is to me anyway, being the nosey parker that I am!

 

20 thoughts on “Photography 101: Mystery and Lighting Effects

  1. The angle tells a story. Who climbed the tree but had to scoot down because the owners caught the peeper? 😀 😀 😀
    I agree. There IS a little stalker in all of us. I haven’t lately, but used to go for walks in the evening when everyone put on their interior lights and turned to look in all the uncovered windows as I strolled by.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Ha HA! I love the idea of someone shinning up the tree to have a peep!
      I think it is hard to resist the urge to look into people’s houses when they leave their curtains invitingly open, whilst the lights are on! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Honestly, I would say more or less everyone would like to know what is going on behind the curtains of other houses. The ones who deny that the most are probably almost dying from curiosity 😄😄

    Liked by 2 people

I'd love to know what you think